Presentation in Neunkirchen about Madagascar

Presentation in Neunkirchen about Madagascar

Live lectures

The spokeswoman of the AG Chamäleons will give a lecture rich in pictures about not only, but also very many chameleons on 13th January 2023 in Neunkirchen (Saarland). Madagascar, located in the Indian Ocean a good 400 km east of the African mainland, is known for its extremely high biodiversity. The absolute hot spots are on the east coast of the island – reason enough to set out on an adventure in the north of Madagascar!

The journey takes you from the capital Antananarivo to Maroantsetra by tiny plane. A gentle introduction to camping can be found on the island of Nosy Mangabe, part of Masoala National Park. The golden sandy beaches of the “island of the leaf-tailed geckos” tell tales of thieving lemurs, glowing scorpions and snakes, which are preferably found behind the makeshift kitchen. The plane then takes the travellers to Sambava, the secret capital of vanilla. On foot, the expedition heads to the sacred mountain massif of Marojejy. In the tropical heat, the steep gorges and constant climbs are not easy terrains. But Marojejy is a paradise for herpetologists: almost innumerable chameleons, geckos, snakes, insects and other creatures can be found here with a little luck and skill. Last but not least, the high altitudes of the mystical rainforest are also home to the “angels of the forest”, the endangered silky sifakas.

Afterwards, the journey continues somewhat more comfortably in an off-road vehicle: on the notorious RN5 via Vohémar into the dry forest of Loky Manambato – a dry contrast programme! Via Ambilobe, Ambanja and Ankarana, the last destination of the adventure trip beckons: The fantastic rainforest of the Montagne d’Ambre, a paradise for campers, chameleon lovers, frog lovers and snake freaks. On this trip, everyone gets their money’s worth – only luxury falls somewhat by the wayside.

Dr. Alexandra Laube Camping with Chameleons – Madagascar’s north east coast
DGHT Regionalgruppe Saar-Pfalz
Zoo school of Zoo Neunkirchen
Zoostraße 25
66538 Neunkirchen
Admission is from 6.30 p.m., lecture begins at 7 p.m.

Picture: Calumma guillaumeti in Marojejy, photographed by Dr. Alexandra Laube

Lecture in Frankfurt about Madagascar

Lecture in Frankfurt about Madagascar

Live lectures

The spokeswoman of the AG Chamäleons will be giving a visually stunning talk about not only, but also a great many chameleons on 21 October 2022 in Frankfurt am Main. Madagascar, located in the Indian Ocean a good 400 km east of mainland Africa, is known for its extremely high biodiversity. But the wild west of Madagascar is one thing above all: hot and dry. Nothing can really survive there – can it? The end of the rainy season is the best time to go herping in Madagascar: time to go where the pepper grows and see what the dry wild west is all about. A herpetological adventure!

The journey leads from the capital Antananarivo through the highlands to Ankarafantsika National Park, which, contrary to popular belief, has more to offer than just birds. Then it continues to the west coast town of Mahajanga on the Bay of Bombetoka. The opposite headland of Katsepy revealed one of its greatest secrets only two years ago with a chameleon thought to be extinct. Morondava, further south by the sea, is home to the famous Baobab Avenue. Not far from there is the Kirindy forest, where probably no animal is quite normal: a cathameral predator with clitoris bones, the world’s smallest mouse maki, a kangaroo rat, the shortest-lived chameleon on earth and a turtle called Kapidolo are just some of Kirindy’s strange inhabitants. From there, the journey continues off-road in the sand to the south, past the baobab forests of Andavadoaka to the beaches of Ifaty. In two spiny forests north and south of Toliara, day geckos, even more turtles and snakes can be found.

Dr Alexandra Laube The Wild West of Madagascar
DGHT City Group Frankfurt am Main
Zoo School of Frankfurt Zoo
Bernhard-Grzimek-Allee 1
60316 Frankfurt am Main
Admission is from 6.30 p.m., lecture begins at 7 p.m.

Photo: Furcifer voeltzkowi in Katsepy, photographed by Dr Alexandra Laube

Species diversification in chameleons

Species diversification in chameleons

Science

From earlier studies, we know that the first chameleons evolved in the late Cretaceous, about 90 million years ago, on mainland of Africa. Around the border between the Cretaceous and Tertiary periods, about 65 million years ago, different species began to evolve. It is still unclear today which factors contributed to the diversity of species. Two researchers from Swansea University in Wales have now used various computational models of phylogenetics to investigate what might have influenced diversification (the splitting of chameleons into many different species).

First, they studied the diversification of chameleon species in Madagascar. In terms of evolutionary history, there are two points in time when chameleons apparently spread across the sea from mainland Africa to Madagascar. One is about 65 million years in the past, the other 45 million years. You could now think that the climatically extremely different habitats in Madagascar could have driven the evolution of the species very quickly after the spread across the sea. To the surprise of the researchers, however, no evidence of this was found. The species richness of chameleons on Madagascar must therefore come from the fact that chameleons spread there very early and thus simply had much more time to develop into different species than elsewhere.

Furthermore, the researchers investigated whether switching between two ecomorphs – from ground-dwelling stub-tailed chameleons to tree-dwelling chameleons with longer tails – had an impact on species diversity. Rather surprisingly, this did not seem to be the case. The evolution to tree-dwellers with longer tails occurred relatively early on one or two occasions. No evidence could be found that different ecomorphs accelerated diversification. Instead, speciation rates were found to slow down progressively over the last 60 million years. Only a very early dispersal event of the genus Bradypodion in South Africa around 10 million years ago was accompanied by a two- to fourfold diversification rate.

As a third focus of the study, the researchers examined the genus Bradypodion. During the climate change in the Miocene around 10 million years ago, South Africa changed a lot. Forests disappeared, leaving behind isolated forest habitats and, in between, savannahs, some of which are now so-called hot spots of biodiversity. Two of them, the Cape Floristic Region at the southwestern tip of South Africa and Maputuland-Pondoland-Albany on the east coast of South Africa, are home to a particularly large number of Bradypodion species. Each species is limited to a geographically very clearly defined area. The researchers, therefore, suspect that Bradypodion species have actually evolved faster under the influence of habitat change. It should be noted that the diversification rate of the genus Bradypodion is probably rather underestimated, as there are still many hidden species to be assumed.

Diversification dynamics of chameleons (Chamaeleonidae)
Stephen Giles, Kevin Arbuckle
Journal of Zoology, 2022
DOI: 10.1111/jzo.13019

For those on short notice: Live stream about Madagascar

For those on short notice: Live stream about Madagascar

Live Stream Live lectures Webinars

For those who make up their minds at short notice, there is a spontaneous chance to attend a particularly beautiful lecture tomorrow, Saturday, 08 October 2022. Together with Jutta Dwinger, AG member Lars Dwinger will give a lecture full of pictures, which will be broadcast online via live stream. This is an opportunity for all those who prefer to watch lectures from the comfort of their couch or for whom the journey to Lower Saxony is simply too far. Language will be German.

This year, the two Dwingers travelled to the north of Madagascar, which is known for its extreme biodiversity. The journey begins in the Marojejy National Park, which stretches across the gorges and steep slopes of the mountain range of the same name. There you can see exceptionally rarely photographed chameleons, but also a great variety of frogs, snakes and geckos. Afterwards, the journey led via the east coast towns of Sambava and Vohémar to the dry forest of Daraina. The next stop was the world-famous Tsingys in Ankarana National Park. Even in these two dry forests, there is a lot of small and big life. The final stop was camping in the middle of a chameleon paradise: The Amber Mountain in the far north of Madagascar. Between tiny earth chameleons that just fit on the tip of a finger and the gentle giants of the rainforest, the two Hamburgers encounter many fascinating creatures on this trip.

Lars und Jutta Dwinger Foray through four national parks in northern Madagascar
Arbeitskreis Wirbellose in Binnengewässern e.V.
Live-Stream Watch the video
Hotel & Restaurant Fricke
Hämelerwald
Niedersachsenstraße 8
31275 Lehrte
Lecture starts at 5 pm 17 Uhr

Picture: Brookesia vadoni in Marojejy, photographed by Jutta Dwinger

Lecture in Neumünster about Madagascar

Lecture in Neumünster about Madagascar

Live lectures

Together with Jutta Dwinger, AG member Lars Dwinger will be giving a presentation full of pictures in Schleswig-Holstein on Friday, 21 October 2022. This year, the two travelled to the north of Madagascar, which is known for its extreme biodiversity.

The journey begins in the Marojejy National Park, which stretches across the gorges and steep slopes of the mountain range of the same name. There you can see extremely rarely photographed chameleons, but also a great variety of frogs, snakes and geckos. Afterwards, the journey led via the east coast towns of Sambava and Vohémar to the dry forest of Daraina. The next stop was the world-famous Tsingys in Ankarana National Park. Even in these two dry forests, there is a lot of small and big life. The final stop was camping in the middle of a chameleon paradise: The Montagne d’Ambre in the far north of Madagascar. Between tiny earth chameleons that just fit on the tip of a finger and the gentle giants of the rainforest, the two Hamburgers encounter many fascinating creatures on this trip.

Lars und Jutta Dwinger  Foray through four national parks in the north of Madagascar
DGHT Stadtgruppe Neumünster
Gaststätte “Schafstall”
May-Eyth-Str. 14
24537 Neumünster
Lecture starts at 8 pm

Picture: Brookesia betschi in Marojejy, photographed by Jutta Dwinger

Factors in the geographical dispersal of chameleons

Factors in the geographical dispersal of chameleons

Science

For a long time, people have been trying to find out how and why chameleons have spread across the African continent, to islands and as far as Europe and Asia. French scientists, in collaboration with international colleagues, have now used phylogenetics and various computational models to investigate how the factors of body size, coastal habitat and extreme lifestyles may have affected the distribution of different chameleon species. The study examined 181 species divided into nine main biogeographical regions: North Africa and Arabia, Central Africa, Southeast Africa, Southwest Africa, India, Socotra, Madagascar, Comoros and Seychelles.

Chameleon species that occurred more than 10 km from the sea historically spread significantly less than the 74 coastal chameleon species. A similar phenomenon is known from skinks and crocodiles. Dispersal probably took place mainly along the coasts, mostly on the same continent and only rarely across the water to other continents or islands.

The size of the different chameleons also seems to have influenced their dispersal throughout history: Large chameleons spread further and more frequently than small chameleons. This could be related to the fact that larger chameleons have a lower metabolic rate – so they need less energy overall relative to smaller competitors. In addition, larger chameleons lay clutches with significantly more eggs, which simply gives them an advantage in numbers.

A somewhat unexpected result came from the study of different life cycles. One would initially assume that short life cycles are associated with faster dispersal. In fact, the calculations showed that especially chameleon species with extreme life cycles spread further. Thus, those that reproduced particularly slowly or particularly quickly were historically more successful among chameleons than the species “in the middle”. In this regard, the authors consider whether particularly slow life cycles with late sexual maturity and long gestation might be more successful on the same continent, while faster reproductive strategies with large clutches are more favourable for dispersal across the sea to islands and other continents. In line with this, Furcifer polleni and Furcifer cephalolepis in Comoros and Chamaeleo zeylanicus in India, all three examples of aquatic dispersal, have a very fast life cycle.

The 34 chameleon species with the combination of living close to the coast, large size and extreme life cycle had a 98% higher dispersal rate than species without these characteristics.  All in all, this is certainly a very theoretical study, but it nevertheless provides exciting insights into the historical distribution and dispersal of chameleons.

Chameleon biogeographic dispersal is associated with extreme life history strategies
Sarah-Sophie Weil, Laurie Gallien, Sébastien Lavergne, Luca Börger, Gabriel W. Hassler, Michaël P.J. Nicolaï & William L. Allen
Ecography
DOI: 10.1111/ecog.06323

New research on the Labord’s chameleon in Kirindy, Madagascar

New research on the Labord’s chameleon in Kirindy, Madagascar

Science

Furcifer labordi is known as the world’s shortest-lived chameleon. Within three months, these animals grow from hatchling to adult chameleons, mate, lay eggs and mostly die immediately afterwards. Scientists at the University of Göttingen researched whether the short lifespan has an influence on the mating strategy of Furcifer labordi.

The study site was the dry forest of Kirindy in western Madagascar. Kirindy is located about 60 km north of the coastal town of Morondava and about 20 km from the sea in the Menabe region. During the rainy season in early 2020, 39 Furcifer labordi of both sexes were fitted with radio transmitters there. Weight and body length at the time of discovery as well as some other values were measured, and the sleeping height of the animals found at night was noted. The animals were released at the site where they were found. The researchers then tracked the chameleons twice during the day and once at night for several weeks using telemetry to record GPS data and establish movement and behaviour patterns.

The results of the study show that female Furcifer labordi in Kirindy are very site-faithful. They only cover short distances. In contrast, male Furcifer labordi move much more and over longer distances, so that seven to fourteen times more males than females could be observed in a forest section. The observed females mated with up to six different males – however, the researchers repeatedly found unmarked males among the observed females. This suggests that Furcifer labordi could actually have a significantly higher number of different reproductive partners. The individually very different body sizes of the males as well as differently pronounced nasal processes had no connection to movement patterns. Furthermore, it could be shown that Furcifer labordi does not occupy and defend territories. This means that presumably the short lifespan actually leads to competition for the few available females being more intense – and as observations show also more aggressive – than in other chameleon species. This study is the first investigation of the mating system of a Malagasy chameleon.

Sex-specific movement ecology of the shortest-lived tetrapod during the mating season
Lennart Hudel & Peter M. Kappeler

Published in Scientific Reports 12
Open Access (free download possible)
DOI https://doi.org/10.1038/s41598-022-14156-3

Vortrag in Frankfurt über Madagaskar

Vortrag in Frankfurt über Madagaskar

Live Vorträge

Die Sprecherin der AG Chamäleons zeigt am 21. Oktober 2022 in Frankfurt am Main einen bildgewaltigen Vortrag über nicht nur, aber auch sehr viele Chamäleons. Madagaskar, gelegen im Indischen Ozean gut 400 km östlich des Festlands von Afrika, ist für seine extrem hohe Artenvielfalt bekannt. Doch der wilde Westen Madagaskar ist vor allem eins: Heiß und trocken. Da kann eigentlich nichts überleben – oder? Das Ende der Regenzeit ist die beste Reisezeit fürs Herping auf Madagaskar: Zeit also, sich dorthin aufzumachen, wo der Pfeffer wächst, und nachzusehen, was es mit dem trockenen wilden Westen auf sich hat. Ein herpetologisches Abenteuer!

Die Reise führt von der Hauptstadt Antananarivo durchs Hochland bis zum Nationalpark Ankarafantsika, der entgegen der gängigen Meinung nicht nur Vögel zu bieten hat. Danach geht es weiter bis in die Westküstenstadt Mahajanga an der Bucht von Bombetoka. Die gegenüber liegende Landzunge von Katsepy hat mit einem für ausgestorben gehaltenen Chamäleon erst vor zwei Jahren eines ihrer größten Geheimnisse preisgegeben. Das weiter südlich gelegene Morondava am Meer ist die Heimat der berühmten Baobab-Allee. Unweit davon liegt der Wald von Kirindy, in dem wohl kein Tier ganz normal ist: Ein kathamerales Raubtier mit Klitorisknochen, der kleinste Mausmaki der Welt, eine Kängururatte, das kurzlebigste Chamäleon der Erde und eine Schildkröte namens Kapidolo sind nur einige der seltsamen Bewohner Kirindys. Von dort führt die Reise offroad im Sand weiter in den Süden, an den Baobabwäldern von Andavadoaka vorbei an die Strände von Ifaty. In zwei Dornwäldern nördlich und südlich der Küstenstadt Toliara finden sich in der trockenen Hitze Madagaskars eine ganze Menge Reptilien, die es zu besuchen lohnt.

Dr. Alexandra Laube Der wilde Westen Madagaskars
DGHT Stadtgruppe Frankfurt am Main
Zooschule des Zoo Frankfurt
Bernhard-Grzimek-Allee 1
60316 Frankfurt am Main
Einlass ab 18.30 Uhr, Vortragsbeginn 19 Uhr

Foto: Furcifer voeltzkowi in Katsepy, fotografiert von Dr. Alexandra Laube

Entstehung der Artenvielfalt von Chamäleons

Entstehung der Artenvielfalt von Chamäleons

Wissenschaft

Aus früheren Studien weiß man, dass sich die ersten Chamäleons in der späten Kreidezeit, etwa vor 90 Millionen Jahren, auf dem Festland Afrikas entwickelten. Etwa an der Grenze zwischen Kreidezeit und Tertiär, vor rund 65 Millionen Jahren, begannen sich verschiedene Arten zu entwickeln. Unklar ist bis heute, welche Faktoren zur Artenvielfalt beigetragen haben. Zwei Forscher der Swansea Universität in Wales haben nun mit verschiedenen Berechnungsmodellen der Phylogenetik untersucht, was die Diversifikation (die Aufsplittung der Chamäleons in viele verschiedene Arten) beeinflusst haben könnte.

Zum einen untersuchten sie die Diversifikation der Chamäleon-Arten auf Madagaskar. Es gibt evolutionsgeschichtlich zwei Zeitpunkte, an denen sich Chamäleons offenbar übers Meer vom Festland Afrikas nach Madagaskar ausbreiteten. Einer liegt etwa 65 Millionen Jahre in der Vergangenheit, der andere 45 Millionen Jahre. Man könnte nun denken, dass die klimatisch extrem unterschiedlichen Lebensräume auf Madagaskar die Artentwicklung nach der Verbreitung übers Meer sehr schnell vorangetrieben haben könnten. Zur Überraschung der Forscher fand sich jedoch kein Hinweis darauf. Der Artenreichtum an Chamäleons auf Madagaskar muss also daher kommen, dass sich Chamäleons dort schon sehr früh verbreiteten und damit einfach nur sehr viel mehr Zeit hatten, sich zu verschiedenen Arten zu entwickeln, als anderswo.

Des Weiteren untersuchten die Forscher, ob der Wechsel zwischen zwei Ökomorphen – von Boden bewohnenden Stummelschwanzchamäleons zu Baum bewohnenden Chamäleons mit längeren Schwänzen – einen Einfluss auf die Artenvielfalt hatte. Eher überraschend war, dass dies nicht der Fall zu sein schien. Die Entwicklung zu Baumbewohnern mit längeren Schwänzen fand relativ früh zu ein oder zwei Gelegenheiten statt. Es konnten keine Hinweise darauf gefunden werden, dass der Wechsel zwischen Ökomorphen die Diversifizierung beschleunigt hätte. Stattdessen stellte sich heraus, dass Artbildungsraten sich in den letzten 60 Millionen Jahren immer weiter verlangsamten. Nur ein sehr früher Verbreitungsevent der Gattung Bradypodion in Südafrika vor rund 10 Millionen Jahren ging  mit einer doppelt bis vierfachen Artbildungsrate einher.

Als dritten Studienschwerpunkt untersuchten die Forscher die Gattung Bradypodion. Während des Klimawandels im Miozän vor rund 10 Millionen Jahren veränderten sich Südafrika sehr stark. Wälder verschwanden, zurück blieben isolierte Waldlebensräume und dazwischen Savannen, die heute zum Teil  sogenannte Hot Spots der Artenvielfalt sind. In zwei davon, der Cape Floristic Region am südwestlichen Zipfel Südafrikas und Maputuland-Pondoland-Albany an der Ostküste Südafrikas, kommen besonders viele Bradypodion-Arten vor. Jede Art ist dabei auf ein geografisch sehr klar begrenztes Gebiet limitiert. Die Forscher vermuten deshalb, dass sich Bradypodion-Arten tatsächlich unter Einfluss der Lebensraum-Veränderung schneller entwickelt haben. Es ist anzumerken, dass die Diversifikationsrate der Gattung Bradypodion wahrscheinlich eher unterschätzt wird, da noch von etlichen versteckten Arten auszugehen ist.

Diversification dynamics of chameleons (Chamaeleonidae)
Stephen Giles, Kevin Arbuckle
Journal of Zoology, 2022
DOI: 10.1111/jzo.13019

Für Kurzentschlossene: Live-Stream über Madagaskar

Für Kurzentschlossene: Live-Stream über Madagaskar

Live Stream Live Vorträge

Für Kurzentschlossene gibt es morgen, am Samstag, den 08. Oktober 2022, eine spontane Chance auf einen besonders schönen Vortrag. AG-Mitglied Lars Dwinger zeigt gemeinsam mit Jutta Dwinger am einen bilderreichen Vortrag, der via Live-Stream online übetragen wird. Die Gelegenheit für alle, die Vorträge lieber gemütlich von der Couch aus verfolgen oder für die schlicht die Anreise nach Niedersachsen zu weit ist.

Die beiden Dwingers bereisten in diesem Jahr den Norden Madagaskars, der bekannt ist für seine extreme Artenvielfalt. Los geht die Reise im Nationalpark Marojejy, der sich über die Schluchten und steilen Hängen des gleichnamigen Gebirges erstreckt. Dort gibt es extrem selten fotografierte Chamäleons, aber auch einen großen Artenreichtum an Fröschen, Schlangen und Geckos zu sehen. Danach führte die Reise über die Ostküstenstädte Sambava und Vohémar in den Trockenwald von Daraina. Als nächstes Etappenziel standen die weltberühmten Tsingys im Nationalpark Ankarana auf dem Plan. Selbst in diesen beiden Trockenwäldern findet sich viel kleines und großes Leben. Den Abschluss macht das Camping inmitten eines Chamäleonparadieses: Dem Montagne d’Ambre im hohen Norden Madagaskars. Zwischen winzigen Erdchamäleons, die gerade auf eine Fingerkuppe passen, und den sanften Riesen des Regenwaldes begegnen den beiden Hamburgern auf dieser Reise viele faszinierende Geschöpfe.

Lars und Jutta Dwinger Streifzug durch vier Nationalparks im Norden Madagaskars
Arbeitskreis Wirbellose in Binnengewässern e.V.
Live-Stream
Hotel & Restaurant Fricke
Hämelerwald
Niedersachsenstraße 8
31275 Lehrte
Vortragsbeginn 17 Uhr

Foto: Brookesia vadoni in Marojejy, fotografiert von Jutta Dwinger

Vortrag in Neumünster über Madagaskar

Vortrag in Neumünster über Madagaskar

Live Vorträge

AG-Mitglied Lars Dwinger zeigt gemeinsam mit Jutta Dwinger am Freitag, den 21. Oktober 2022, einen bilderreichen Vortrag in Schleswig-Holstein. Die beiden bereisten in diesem Jahr den Norden Madagaskars, der bekannt ist für seine extreme Artenvielfalt.

Los geht die Reise im Nationalpark Marojejy, der sich über die Schluchten und steilen Hängen des gleichnamigen Gebirges erstreckt. Dort gibt es extrem selten fotografierte Chamäleons, aber auch einen großen Artenreichtum an Fröschen, Schlangen und Geckos zu sehen. Danach führte die Reise über die Ostküstenstädte Sambava und Vohémar in den Trockenwald von Daraina. Als nächstes Etappenziel standen die weltberühmten Tsingys im Nationalpark Ankarana auf dem Plan. Selbst in diesen beiden Trockenwäldern findet sich viel kleines und großes Leben. Den Abschluss macht das Camping inmitten eines Chamäleonparadieses: Dem Montagne d’Ambre im hohen Norden Madagaskars. Zwischen winzigen Erdchamäleons, die gerade auf eine Fingerkuppe passen, und den sanften Riesen des Regenwaldes begegnen den beiden Hamburgern auf dieser Reise viele faszinierende Geschöpfe.

Lars und Jutta Dwinger Streifzug durch vier Nationalparks im Norden Madagaskars
DGHT Stadtgruppe Neumünster
Gaststätte „Schafstall“
May-Eyth-Str. 14
24537 Neumünster
Vortragsbeginn 20 Uhr

Foto: Brookesia betschi in Marojejy, fotografiert von Jutta Dwinger

Faktoren der geografischen Ausbreitung von Chamäleons

Faktoren der geografischen Ausbreitung von Chamäleons

Wissenschaft

Schon lange wird versucht zu ergründen, wie und warum Chamäleons sich über den afrikanischen Kontinent, auf Inseln und bis nach Europa und Asien ausgebreitet haben. Französische Wissenschaftler haben jetzt in Zusammenarbeit mit internationalen Kollegen mittels Phylogenetik und verschiedenen Berechnungsmodellen untersucht, wie sich die Faktoren Körpergröße, küstennaher Lebensraum und extreme Lebensweisen auf die Verbreitung verschiedener Chamäleonarten ausgewirkt haben könnte. Die Studie untersuchte 181 Arten, die sich auf neun biogeografische Hauptregionen aufteilen: Nordafrika und Arabien, Zentralafrika, Südostafrika, Südwestafrika, Indien, Sokotra, Madagaskar, die Komoren und die Seychellen.

Chamäleonarten, die mehr als 10 km vom Meer entfernt vorkamen, verbreiteten sich historisch deutlich weniger als die 74 küstennah lebende Chamäleonarten. Ein ähnliches Phänomen ist von Skinken und Krokodilen bekannt. Die Verbreitung fand wahrscheinlich vor allem entlang der Küsten statt, zumeist auf dem gleichen Kontinent und nur selten über das Wasser zu anderen Kontinenten oder Inseln hin.

Die Größe der verschiedenen Chamäleons scheint ihre Ausbreitung in der Geschichte ebenfalls beeinflusst zu haben: Große Chamäleons verbreiteten sich weiter und häufiger als kleine Chamäleons. Das könnte damit zusammenhängen, dass größere Chamäleons eine geringere Stoffwechselrate haben – damit benötigen sie im Verhältnis zu kleineren Konkurrenten insgesamt weniger Energie. Außerdem legen größere Chamäleons Gelege mit deutlich mehr Eiern, wodurch sie ganz einfach zahlenmäßig im Vorteil sind.

Ein etwas unerwartetes Ergebnis erbrachte die Untersuchung verschiedener Lebenszyklen. Man würde zunächst annehmen, dass kurze Lebenszyklen mit schnellerer Verbreitung einhergehen. Tatsächlich zeigten die Berechnungen, dass vor allem Chamäleonarten mit extremen Lebenszyklen sich weiter verbreiteten. Wer also besonders langsam oder besonders schnell reproduzierte, war historisch unter Chamäleons erfolgreicher als die Arten „im Mittelfeld“. Die Autoren überlegen diesbezüglich, ob besonders langsame Lebenszyklen mit später Geschlechtsreife und langer Trächtigkeit möglicherweise auf dem gleichen Kontinent erfolgreicher sind, während schnellere Vermehrungsstrategien mit großen Gelegen günstiger für die Verbreitung übers Meer auf Inseln und andere Kontinente sind. Dazu passt, dass Furcifer polleni und Furcifer cephalolepis auf den Komoren und Chamaeleo zeylanicus in Indien, alles drei Beispiele für eine Ausbreitung übers Wasser, einen sehr schnellen Lebenszyklus aufweisen.

Die 34 Chamäleonarten mit der Kombination küstennah lebend, groß und extremen Lebenszyklus hatten zu 98% eine höhere Verbreitungsrate als Arten ohne diese Merkmale.  Insgesamt handelt es sich sicherlich um eine sehr theoretische Studie, die aber dennoch spannende Aufschlüsse über die historische Ver- und Ausbreitung von Chamäleons aufzeigt.

Chameleon biogeographic dispersal is associated with extreme life history strategies
Sarah-Sophie Weil, Laurie Gallien, Sébastien Lavergne, Luca Börger, Gabriel W. Hassler, Michaël P.J. Nicolaï & William L. Allen
Ecography
DOI: 10.1111/ecog.06323

Neue Forschung zum Labords Chamäleon in Kirindy, Madagaskar

Neue Forschung zum Labords Chamäleon in Kirindy, Madagaskar

Wissenschaft

Furcifer labordi ist bekannt als das kurzlebigste Chamäleon der Welt. Innerhalb von drei Monaten wachsen diese Tiere vom Schlüpfling zum adulten Chamäleon, verpaaren sich, legen Eier und sterben größtenteils direkt danach. Wissenschaftler der Universtität Göttingen forschten darüber, ob die kurze Lebensdauer einen Einfluss auf die Paarungsstrategie von Furcifer labordi hat.

Studienort war der Trockenwald von Kirindy im Westen Madagaskars. Kirindy liegt rund 60 km nördlich der Küstenstadt Morondava und etwa 20 km vom Meer entfernt in der Region Menabe. In der Regenzeit Anfang 2020 wurden dort 39 Furcifer labordi beiden Geschlechts mit Radio-Transmittern versehen. Gewicht und Körperlänge beim Fund sowie einige andere Werte wurden gemessen, die Schlafhöhe der nachts aufgefundenen Tiere wurde notiert. Danach wurden die Tiere am Fundort ausgesetzt. Im Folgenden machten die Forscher die Chamäleons über mehrere Wochen zwei Mal tagsüber und einmal nachts mittels Telemetrie ausfindig, um GPS-Daten aufzunehmen und Bewegungs- und Verhaltensmuster zu erstellen.

Die Ergebnisse der Studie zeigen, dass weibliche Furcifer labordi in Kirindy sehr standorttreu sind. Sie legen nur kurze Wegstrecken zurück. Im Gegensatz dazu bewegen sich männliche Furcifer labordi wesentlich mehr und über weitere Wegstrecken, so dass in einem Waldabschnitt sieben bis vierzehn Mal mehr Männchen als Weibchen beobachtet werden konnten. Die beobachteten Weibchen paarten sich mit bis zu sechs verschiedenen Männchen – allerdings fanden die Forscher immer wieder nicht markierte Männchen bei den beobachteten Weibchen. Das deutet darauf hin, dass Furcifer labordi tatsächlich eine deutlich höhere Zahl verschiedener Fortpflanzungspartner haben könnte. Die individuell sehr unterschiedliche Körpergröße der Männchen sowie unterschiedlich stark ausgeprägte Nasenfortsätze hatten keine Verbindung zu Bewegungsmustern. Außerdem konnte nachgewiesen werden, dass Furcifer labordi keine Reviere besetzt und verteidigt. Das bedeutet, dass vermutlich die kurze Lebenszeit tatsächlich dazu führt, dass der Wettbewerb um die wenigen vorhandenen Weibchen intensiver – und wie Beobachtungen zeigen auch aggressiver – geführt wird als bei anderen Chamäleonarten. Es handelt sich bei der Studie um die erste Untersuchung des Paarungssystems eines madagassischen Chamäleons.

Sex-specific movement ecology of the shortest-lived tetrapod during the mating season
Lennart Hudel & Peter M. Kappeler

Erschienen in Scientific Reports 12
Open Access (kostenloser Download möglich)
DOI https://doi.org/10.1038/s41598-022-14156-3