Mosquito bites may induce skin colour change

Mosquito bites may induce skin colour change

Tiermedizin Science

Sometimes science starts small: last year, someone posted a photo of a Calumma globifer with a mosquito sitting on it on the online platform iNaturalist. Right there you could see a black discoloration of the scales. I wonder if there was a connection?

A handful of curious people searched for more photos of mosquitoes on chameleons and found what they were looking for: On Facebook there were some of Veiled chameleons, on iNaturalist more of Furcifer minor and Furcifer nicosiai. However, there were also six observations of mosquitoes on chameleons that did not appear to have black spots.

To test the connection, scientists in Madagascar placed two Furcifer oustaleti and four carpet chameleons alone in an enclosure with 25 female Asian tiger mosquitoes (Aedes albopictus), which had not been fed for 24 hours beforehand. At the same time, all six chameleons were pricked in the skin with a needle to test whether this “trauma” would also trigger a color change in the skin. The results were surprising: in the four Furcifer lateralis, numerous black skin discolorations developed after mosquito bites, in the two Furcifer outaleti not a single one. The punctures with the needle remained without consequences in all six.

The authors of the recently published article propose three possible theories as to how the color change in the chameleon’s skin could come about: The mosquito saliva could contain a type of local anesthetic, nitric oxide or other proteins that cause the skin’s melanophores to become exclusively visible. Further research in this field would certainly be exciting!

Mosqito bite-induced color change in chameleon skin
Pablo Garcia, Raul E. Diaz Junior, Christopher V. Anderson, Tovo M. Andrianjafy, Len de Beer, Devin A. Edmonds, Ryan M. Carney
Herpetological Review 54(3), 2023, pp.353-358

Chameleons in Bobaomby (Madagascar)

Chameleons in Bobaomby (Madagascar)

Verbreitung Science

The Bobaomby complex is located at the northernmost tip of Madagascar, north and west of the largest coastal town in the north, Antsiranana (Diego Suarez in French). It consists of dry forest at sea level up to a maximum of 200 metres above sea level as well as extensive savannahs on karst rock and various rock formations. The area has not been protected to date.

Scientists from Madagascar conducted reptile counts in the Bobaomby complex in 2018. The counts were carried out in February and March, i.e. during the rainy season. Five different locations were analysed: Beantely, Antsisikala and Ambanililabe as examples of varying degrees of degraded dry forest, Anjiabe for its intact dry forest and Ampombofofo with relatively intact forest. To find animals, the visual survey was used on 25 days during the day and at night in selected transects, sometimes specifically in suitable habitats such as leaf axils or under dead tree trunks, and pitfall traps along erected fences were also used.

A total of 42 reptile species have been recorded. All of them, except one gecko species, originally only occur on Madagascar, while two other gecko species are now also found on neighbouring islands. There is a small novelty among the chameleons: the leaf chameleon Brookesia ebenaui was recorded for the first time in Bobaomby, more precisely in Beantely. Brookesia stumpffi and Furcifer petteri were found in Beantely, Anjiabe and Ampombofofo. Furcifer pardalis and Furcifer oustaleti occurred as expected throughout the whole Bobaomby complex.

The authors suggest that the Bobaomby complex – especially the three forests where most of the reptiles were found – should be protected to preserve the local herpetofauna.

Overview of reptile diversity from Bobaomby complex, northern tip of Madagascar
Randriamialisoa, Raphali R. Andriantsimanarilafy, Alain J. Rakotondrina, Josué A. Rakotoarisoa, Nasaina T. Ranaivoson, Jeanneney Rabearivony, Achille P. Raselimanana
Animals 13: 3396, 2023
DOI:  10.3390/ani13213396

Photo: Furcifer petteri, male, in the north of Madagascar, photographed by Alex Laube

Chameleons in the Montagne des Français (Madagascar)

Chameleons in the Montagne des Français (Madagascar)

Verbreitung Science

The Montagne des Français is a limestone massif with dry forest in northern Madagascar. It reaches up to 425 m above sea level and is within sight of the largest coastal town in the north, Antsiranana (French Diego Suarez). It has been a protected area since 2007. Scientists from Madagascar and the USA conducted counts of reptiles and amphibians in the Montagne des Français in 2014 and 2020.

Counts were made in January and May, i.e. during and at the end of the rainy season. In 2014, the focus was on the region around Andavakoera, while in 2020 it was on Sahabedara, Ampitiliantsambo, and Andavakoera. In order to find animals, the search was conducted during the day and at night along predefined paths, partly in suitable habitats, and partly in pitfall pits.

A total of 20 amphibian and 50 reptile species were recorded. Four new amphibians and one reptile were found for the first time in the Montagne des Français. The snake Langaha pseudoalluaudi was discovered again for the first time since 2007. Among the chameleons, there were minor new discoveries. Brookesia stumpffi could only be found in 2014, but no longer in 2020 – however, due to the relatively wide distribution of the species, this should not be a problem for the entire population. Brookesia tristis, one of the smallest chameleons in the world, was also only seen in 2014. Here, the body size, which makes it very difficult to find, and the time of year (May is relatively late for this species) could play a role. Brookesia ebenaui was detected in Andavakoera in 2014 and in Sahabedara in 2020. The two tree dwellers Furcifer oustaleti and Furcifer pardalis were found in both years in Andavakoera and Ampitiliantsambo. Furcifer petteri, on the other hand, was present at all the sites surveyed in both years.

Amphibians and reptiles of the “Montagne des Français”: Update of the distribution and regional endemicity
Herizo Oninjatovo Radonirina, Bernard Randriamahatantsoa, Rabibisoa Harinelina Christian Nirhy, Christopher J. Raxworthy
Preprint
DOI: 10.20944/preprints202306.1499.v1

Photo: Furcifer petteri on Madagascar, photographed by A. Laube

Introduced chameleons in Florida

Introduced chameleons in Florida

Science

The “Sunshine State” Florida in the southeast of the USA has long been known for a variety of introduced reptiles. Students at the University of Florida recently published a small brochure on the current status of chameleon species introduced there.

As early as the late 1800s, a non-native reptile was documented to have found its way to Florida by ship: an anole. Since then, some 150 introduced species have been documented in the US state, including eight species of chameleons. Three of them are now spread over the entire southern half of the peninsula and even reproduce: the Yemen chameleon Chamaeleo calyptratus, the Malagasy Giant chameleon Furcifer oustaleti, and the panther chameleon Furcifer pardalis.

Current known distribution of Panther, Veiled, and Malagasy Giant Chameleons in Florida.

All three species are thought to have come into the country with increasing pet trade and private keeping of chameleons. Furcifer oustaleti has been in Florida since at least the year 2000. At that time, the first findings became known in an avocado plantation located in the immediate vicinity of the buildings of a former importer in Miami – Dade County. Chamaeleo calyptratus was first recorded in Fort Myers on a vacant lot only a little later, in 2002. Furcifer pardalis followed in 2008.

The question of whether any of the three species mentioned should be considered invasive is difficult to answer so far due to a lack of data. A species is considered invasive if it is non-native, has been introduced by humans, and has been proven to cause damage to native flora and fauna. The last point, however, is debatable. While Jackson’s chameleons in Hawaii have been shown to consume endangered native snail species, among others, the same is not yet known from Florida. There, the animals are currently considered more of a nuisance, but with the potential to threaten the native invertebrate fauna.

The problem is that chameleons are still being released – sometimes they escape unintentionally, but sometimes they are deliberately released in order to collect and sell the offspring later. For the latter, you need a permit in Florida. Interesting to note: Anyone is allowed to kill introduced chameleons on their own property “in a humane way”. In some places, chameleons are already being collected to be sold to private owners.

The students call for observations of chameleons in Florida to be reported on the internet via IveGot1.org or via the app of the same name. So far, not all populations are known, as much information is only passed on by hand. Furthermore, they ask that chameleons that have become a nuisance should not be abandoned, but handed into the Exotic Pet Amnesty Program of the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission. The surrender there is free of charge, and the EPAP is ultimately looking for new keepers for the animals.

Florida’s introduced reptiles: Veiled Chameleon (Chamaeleo calyptratus), Oustalet’s chameleon (Furcifer oustaleti), and panther chameleon (Furcifer pardalis)
Max Maddox, Karissa Beloyan, Natalie M. Claunch, Steve A. Johnson
Veröffentlichung des Wildlife Ecology and Conservation Department, Universität of Florida
DOI: 10.32473/edis-UW501-2022

Hautverfärbungen nach Mückenstichen

Hautverfärbungen nach Mückenstichen

Tiermedizin Wissenschaft

Manchmal beginnt Wissenschaft ganz klein: Auf der Onlineplattform iNaturalist postete jemand letztes Jahr ein Foto eines Calumma globifer, auf dem eine Stechmücke saß. Genau dort konnte man eine schwarze Verfärbung der Schuppen erkennen. Ob da wohl ein Zusammenhang bestand?

Eine Hand voll neugieriger Menschen suchte mehr Fotos von Stechmücken auf Chamäleons und wurde fündig: Auf Facebook gab es welche von Jemenchamäleons, auf iNaturalist weitere von Furcifer minor und Furcifer nicosiai. Allerdings fanden sich auch sechs Beobachtungen mit Stechmücken auf Chamäleons, bei denen keine schwarzen Punkte vorhanden zu sein schienen.

Um den Zusammenhang zu testen, setzen Wissenschaftler auf Madagaskar zwei Furcifer oustaleti und vier Teppichchamäleons jeweils alleine in ein Gehege mit 25 weiblichen asiatischen Tigermücken (Aedes albopictus), die man vorher 24 h nicht gefüttert hatte. Parallel wurden alle sechs Chamäleons mit einer Nadel in die Haut gestochen, um zu testen, ob auch dieses „Trauma“ einen Farbwechsel der Haut auslösen würde. Die Ergebnisse waren überraschend: Bei den vier Furcifer lateralis entstanden zahlreiche schwarze Hautverfärbungen nach Mückenstichen, bei den beiden Furcifer outaleti keine einzige. Die Punktionen mit der Nadel blieben bei allen sechs ohne Folgen.

Die Autoren des gerade veröffentlichten Artikels schlagen drei mögliche Theorien vor, wie die Farbveränderung in der Chamäleonhaut zustanden kommen könnte: Der Mückenspeichel könnte eine Art Lokalanästhetikum, Stickstoffmonoxid oder andere Proteine enthalten, die für das ausschließliche Sichtbarwerden der Melanophoren der Haut sorgen. Weitere Forschung in diesem Feld wäre sicherlich spannend!

Mosqito bite-induced color change in chameleon skin
Pablo Garcia, Raul E. Diaz Junior, Christopher V. Anderson, Tovo M. Andrianjafy, Len de Beer, Devin A. Edmonds, Ryan M. Carney
Herpetological Review 54(3), 2023, pp.353-358

Chamäleons in Bobaomby (Madagaskar)

Chamäleons in Bobaomby (Madagaskar)

Verbreitung Wissenschaft

Der Bobaomby-Komplex liegt am nördlichsten Zipfel Madagaskars, nördlich und westlich der größten Küstenstadt des Nordens, Antsiranana (französisch Diego Suarez). Er besteht aus Trockenwald auf Meeresniveau bis maximal 200 m üNN sowie ausgedehnten Savannen auf Karstgestein und verschiedenen Felsformationen. Bisher unterliegt die Gegend keinerlei Schutz.

Wissenschaftler aus Madagaskar führten 2018 Zählungen von Reptilien im Bobaomby Komplex durch. Gezählt wurde im Februar und März, also während der Regenzeit. Fünf verschiedene Orte wurden untersucht: Beantely, Antsisikala und Ambanililabe als Beispiele unterschiedlich stark zerstörten Trockenwalds, Anjiabe wegen seines intakten Trockenwalds und Ampombofofo mit relativ intaktem Wald. Um Tiere zu finden, wurde an 25 Tagen zum einen mit dem bloßen Auge tagsüber und nachts in ausgewählten Transekten gesucht, teils gezielt in geeignet erscheinenden Habitaten wie Blattachseln oder unter toten Baumstämmen, zum anderen wurden Fallgruben entlang aufgestellter Zäune genutzt.

Insgesamt wurden 42 Reptilienarten nachgewiesen. Alle davon, ausgenommen eine Gecko-Art, kommen ursprünglich nur auf Madagaskar vor, zwei weitere Gecko-Arten findet man inzwischen auch auf benachbarten Inseln. Bei den Chamäleons gibt es eine kleine Neuerung: Erstmals konnte das Erdchamäleon Brookesia ebenaui in Bobaomby, genauer in Beantely, nachgewiesen werden. Brookesia stumpffi und Furcifer petteri wurde in Beantely, Anjiabe und Ampombofofo gefunden. Furcifer pardalis und Furcifer oustaleti kamen wie erwartet im gesamten Bobaomby-Komplex vor.

Die Autoren schlagen vor, den Bobaomby-Komplex – insbesondere aber die drei Wälder, in denen die meisten Reptilien gefunden wurden, unter Schutz zu stellen, um die dortige Herpetofauna zu erhalten.

Overview of reptile diversity from Bobaomby complex, northern tip of Madagascar
Randriamialisoa, Raphali R. Andriantsimanarilafy, Alain J. Rakotondrina, Josué A. Rakotoarisoa, Nasaina T. Ranaivoson, Jeanneney Rabearivony, Achille P. Raselimanana
Animals 13: 3396, 2023
DOI:  10.3390/ani13213396

Foto: Furcifer petteri, männlich, im Norden Madagaskars, fotografiert von Alex Laube

Chamäleons im Montagne des Français (Madagaskar)

Chamäleons im Montagne des Français (Madagaskar)

Verbreitung Wissenschaft

Der Montagne des Français ist ein Kalksteinmassiv mit Trockenwald im Norden Madagaskars. Es reicht bis zu 425 m über den Meeresspiegel und liegt in Sichtweite der größten Küstenstadt des Nordens, Antsiranana (französisch Diego Suarez). Seit 2007 gilt es als Schutzgebiet. Wissenschaftler aus Madagaskar und den USA haben 2014 und 2020 Zählungen von Reptilien und Amphibien im Montagne des Français durchgeführt.

Gezählt wurde im Januar und Mai, also während und zum Ende der Regenzeit. 2014 wurde sich auf die Region um Andavakoera konzentriert, 2020 dagegen um Sahabedara, Ampitiliantsambo und Andavakoera. Um Tiere zu finden, wurde zum einen tagsüber und nachts entlang vorgegebener Wege gesucht, teils gezielt in geeignet erscheinenden Habitaten, zum anderen wurden Fallgruben genutzt.

Insgesamt wurden 20 Amphibien- und 50 Reptilienarten nachgewiesen. Vier neue Amphibien und ein Reptil konnten erstmals im Montagne des Français gefunden werden. Die Schlange Langaha pseudoalluaudi wurde erstmals seit 2007 wieder entdeckt. Bei den Chamäleons haben sich kleinere Neuerungen ergeben. Brookesia stumpffi konnte nur 2014, aber nicht mehr 2020 gefunden werden – auf Grund der relativ weiten Verbreitung der Art sollte dies jedoch kein Problem für die gesamte Population darstellen. Brookesia tristis, eines der kleinsten Chamäleons der Welt, wurde ebenfalls nur 2014 entdeckt. Hier könnte die Körpergröße, die ein Auffinden stark erschwert, und die Jahreszeit (Mai ist relativ spät für diese Art) eine Rolle spielen. Brookesia ebenaui konnte 2014 in Andavakoera und 2020 in Sahabedara nachgewiesen werden. Die beiden Baumbewohner Furcifer oustaleti und Furcifer pardalis konnten in beiden Jahren in Andavakoera und Ampitiliantsambo gefunden werden. Furcifer petteri dagegen kam in beiden Jahren an allen untersuchten Orten vor.

Amphibians and reptiles of the “Montagne des Français”: Update of the distribution and regional endemicity
Herizo Oninjatovo Radonirina, Bernard Randriamahatantsoa, Rabibisoa Harinelina Christian Nirhy, Christopher J. Raxworthy
Preprint
DOI: 10.20944/preprints202306.1499.v1

Foto: Furcifer petteri auf Madagaskar, fotografiert von A. Laube

Eingeschleppte Chamäleons in Florida

Eingeschleppte Chamäleons in Florida

Wissenschaft

Der „Sunshine State“ Florida im Südosten der USA ist schon lange bekannt für eine Vielzahl eingeschleppter Reptilien. Studenten der Universität von Florida haben kürzlich eine kleine Broschüre über den aktuellen Stand dort eingeschleppter Chamäleon-Arten veröffentlicht.

Bereits in den späten 1800er Jahren fand nachweislich ein nicht-einheimisches Reptil mit einem Schiff den Weg nach Florida: Ein Anolis. Seitdem wurden rund 150 eingeschleppte Arten in dem US-Bundesstaat dokumentiert, darunter acht Arten Chamäleons. Drei davon sind inzwischen über die gesamte südliche Hälfte der Halbinsel verbreitet und vermehren sich sogar: Das Jemenchamäleon Chamaeleo calyptratus, das Madagaskar-Riesenchamäleon Furcifer oustaleti und das Pantherchamäleon Furcifer pardalis.

Aktuell bekannte Verbreitung von Panther-, Jemen- und Madagaskar-Riesenchamäleon in Florida

Man geht davon aus, dass alle drei Arten mit zunehmendem Zoohandel und der Privathaltung von Chamäleons ins Land kamen. Furcifer oustaleti ist seit mindestens dem Jahr 2000 in Florida. Bekannt wurden damals erste Funde in einer Avocadoplantage, die sich in direkter Nähe der Gebäude eines ehemaligen Importeurs in Miami – Dade County, befand. Chamaeleo calyptratus wurde nur wenig später, 2002, erstmals in Fort Myers auf einem leerstehenden Grundstück nachgewiesen. Furcifer pardalis folgte 2008.

Die Frage, ob eine der drei genannten Arten als invasiv zu betrachten ist, ist mangels Daten bisher schwierig zu beantworten. Als invasiv wird eine Art gesehen, die nicht-einheimisch ist, durch den Menschen eingeschleppt wurde und nachweislich Schaden an der einheimischen Flora und Fauna verursacht. Der letzte Punkt ist jedoch strittig. Während von Jacksons Chamäleons auf Hawaii nachgewiesen wurde, dass sie unter anderem einheimische bedrohte Schnecken-Arten verzehren, ist dergleichen aus Florida bisher unbekannt. Dort gelten die Tere aktuell eher als Lästlinge, allerdings mit Potenzial zur Bedrohung der einheimischen Wirbellosenfauna.

Problematisch ist, dass wohl nach wie vor Chamäleons ausgesetzt werden – teils entlaufen sie unabsichtlich, teils werden jedoch auch gezielt Tiere ausgesetzt, um später den Nachwuchs einzusammeln und zu verkaufen. Für letzteres benötigt man eine Genehmigung in Florida. Interessant dazu: Jeder darf eingeschleppte Chamäleons auf dem eigenen Grundstück „auf humane Weise“ töten. An einigen Orten werden bereits gezielt Chamäleons abgesammelt, um sie an Privathalter zu vermitteln.

Die Studenten rufen dazu auf, Beobachtungen von Chamäleons in Florida im Internet über IveGot1.org oder über die gleichnamige App zu melden. Bisher sind nicht alle Populationen bekannt, da viele Informationen nur unter der Hand weitergegeben werden. Des Weiteren bitten sie darum, „lästig gewordene“ Chamäleons nicht auszusetzen, sondern beim Exotic Pet Amnesty Program der Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission abzugeben. Die Abgabe dort ist kostenlos, das EPAP sucht letztlich neue Halter für die Tiere.

Florida’s introduced reptiles: Veiled Chameleon (Chamaeleo calyptratus), Oustalet’s chameleon (Furcifer oustaleti), and panther chameleon (Furcifer pardalis)
Max Maddox, Karissa Beloyan, Natalie M. Claunch, Steve A. Johnson
Veröffentlichung des Wildlife Ecology and Conservation Department, Universität of Florida
DOI: 10.32473/edis-UW501-2022