Factors in the geographical dispersal of chameleons

Factors in the geographical dispersal of chameleons

Science

For a long time, people have been trying to find out how and why chameleons have spread across the African continent, to islands and as far as Europe and Asia. French scientists, in collaboration with international colleagues, have now used phylogenetics and various computational models to investigate how the factors of body size, coastal habitat and extreme lifestyles may have affected the distribution of different chameleon species. The study examined 181 species divided into nine main biogeographical regions: North Africa and Arabia, Central Africa, Southeast Africa, Southwest Africa, India, Socotra, Madagascar, Comoros and Seychelles.

Chameleon species that occurred more than 10 km from the sea historically spread significantly less than the 74 coastal chameleon species. A similar phenomenon is known from skinks and crocodiles. Dispersal probably took place mainly along the coasts, mostly on the same continent and only rarely across the water to other continents or islands.

The size of the different chameleons also seems to have influenced their dispersal throughout history: Large chameleons spread further and more frequently than small chameleons. This could be related to the fact that larger chameleons have a lower metabolic rate – so they need less energy overall relative to smaller competitors. In addition, larger chameleons lay clutches with significantly more eggs, which simply gives them an advantage in numbers.

A somewhat unexpected result came from the study of different life cycles. One would initially assume that short life cycles are associated with faster dispersal. In fact, the calculations showed that especially chameleon species with extreme life cycles spread further. Thus, those that reproduced particularly slowly or particularly quickly were historically more successful among chameleons than the species “in the middle”. In this regard, the authors consider whether particularly slow life cycles with late sexual maturity and long gestation might be more successful on the same continent, while faster reproductive strategies with large clutches are more favourable for dispersal across the sea to islands and other continents. In line with this, Furcifer polleni and Furcifer cephalolepis in Comoros and Chamaeleo zeylanicus in India, all three examples of aquatic dispersal, have a very fast life cycle.

The 34 chameleon species with the combination of living close to the coast, large size and extreme life cycle had a 98% higher dispersal rate than species without these characteristics.  All in all, this is certainly a very theoretical study, but it nevertheless provides exciting insights into the historical distribution and dispersal of chameleons.

Chameleon biogeographic dispersal is associated with extreme life history strategies
Sarah-Sophie Weil, Laurie Gallien, Sébastien Lavergne, Luca Börger, Gabriel W. Hassler, Michaël P.J. Nicolaï & William L. Allen
Ecography
DOI: 10.1111/ecog.06323

Hidden species within the genus Chamaeleo

Hidden species within the genus Chamaeleo

Science

Thanks to genetic studies, the identification of species is much more precise today than it was a few decades ago. However, genetics always raises new questions. The genus Chamaeleo currently has 14 species. Scientists from South Africa have now investigated whether there might be other ‘hidden’ species of the genus Chamaeleo. At the same time, they investigated where the origin of the genus Chamaeleo might lie. For this purpose, the genetic material of all 14 species recognised so far was examined. Exciting results came to light: of the fourteen Chamaeleo species, thirteen were confirmed, but one was questioned. In addition, several new candidate species were identified.

The two different populations of Chamaeleo anchietae in western Angola and in south-eastern Congo and Tanzania probably represent two different species. If the animals from the Democratic Republic of Congo and Tanzania were true to be elevated to species status in the future, they would have to be named Chamaeleo vinckei according to taxonomy and a species description from 1950.

Chamaeleo gracilis seems to hide – which would not be surprising due to its wide distribution – at least three independent species. The “real” Chamaeleo gracilis would be found in Liberia, Sierra Leone and Guinea. The other two groups originate from the triangle of countries between Chad, Cameroon and the Central African Republic and from the border between Kenya and Tanzania. Unfortunately, only single specimens of Chamaeleo gracilis have been sampled, so no more far-reaching recommendation on the splitting of species can be made at this point.

The flap-necked chameleon (Chamaeleo dilepis), currently described as a single species, could contain a total of three species. One of the genetically distinct populations occurs in eastern Africa in Tanzania and Rwanda, while a second species is found in southern and eastern Africa, from South Africa through Botswana, Zambia, Namibia, Mozambique and Malawi to southern Tanzania. The third species would be distributed in west central Africa between Angola and the Congo. None of the candidate species matches the eight subspecies described so far purely on the basis of appearance. Therefore, a complete review of the previous subspecies, their status and the species status of the three newly emerged clades is necessary.

The results of the study on Chamaeleo necasi from Benin are also interesting. It turned out that the genetics identified the sampled animal as Chamaeleo gracilis. However, the specimen itself was not examined by the researchers. It could be a Chamaeleo gracilis misclassified by its appearance. In this case, the specimens used for the species description in 2007 would have to be viewed and sampled again in order to obtain more information about the actual species’ status.

In the course of the genetic investigations, the researchers found out that the origin of the genus Chamaeleo probably lies in South Africa. Chamaeleo namaquensis, the only terrestrial chameleon of the genus Chamaeleo, split off from the other Chamaeleo species as early as 40 million years ago in the Eocene. This makes the Namaqua chameleon from the Namib Desert and Damaraland the “oldest” chameleon of the genus Chamaeleo. Chamaeleo anchietae followed about 29 million years ago.

Out of southern Africa: origins and cryptic speciation in Chamaeleo, the most widespread chameleon genus
Devon C. Main, Bettine Jansen van Vuuren, Colin R. Tilbury & Krystal A. Tolley Conceptualisation
Molecular Phylogenetics and Evolution, Volume 175
DOI: 10.1016/j.ympev.2022.107578

Faktoren der geografischen Ausbreitung von Chamäleons

Faktoren der geografischen Ausbreitung von Chamäleons

Wissenschaft

Schon lange wird versucht zu ergründen, wie und warum Chamäleons sich über den afrikanischen Kontinent, auf Inseln und bis nach Europa und Asien ausgebreitet haben. Französische Wissenschaftler haben jetzt in Zusammenarbeit mit internationalen Kollegen mittels Phylogenetik und verschiedenen Berechnungsmodellen untersucht, wie sich die Faktoren Körpergröße, küstennaher Lebensraum und extreme Lebensweisen auf die Verbreitung verschiedener Chamäleonarten ausgewirkt haben könnte. Die Studie untersuchte 181 Arten, die sich auf neun biogeografische Hauptregionen aufteilen: Nordafrika und Arabien, Zentralafrika, Südostafrika, Südwestafrika, Indien, Sokotra, Madagaskar, die Komoren und die Seychellen.

Chamäleonarten, die mehr als 10 km vom Meer entfernt vorkamen, verbreiteten sich historisch deutlich weniger als die 74 küstennah lebende Chamäleonarten. Ein ähnliches Phänomen ist von Skinken und Krokodilen bekannt. Die Verbreitung fand wahrscheinlich vor allem entlang der Küsten statt, zumeist auf dem gleichen Kontinent und nur selten über das Wasser zu anderen Kontinenten oder Inseln hin.

Die Größe der verschiedenen Chamäleons scheint ihre Ausbreitung in der Geschichte ebenfalls beeinflusst zu haben: Große Chamäleons verbreiteten sich weiter und häufiger als kleine Chamäleons. Das könnte damit zusammenhängen, dass größere Chamäleons eine geringere Stoffwechselrate haben – damit benötigen sie im Verhältnis zu kleineren Konkurrenten insgesamt weniger Energie. Außerdem legen größere Chamäleons Gelege mit deutlich mehr Eiern, wodurch sie ganz einfach zahlenmäßig im Vorteil sind.

Ein etwas unerwartetes Ergebnis erbrachte die Untersuchung verschiedener Lebenszyklen. Man würde zunächst annehmen, dass kurze Lebenszyklen mit schnellerer Verbreitung einhergehen. Tatsächlich zeigten die Berechnungen, dass vor allem Chamäleonarten mit extremen Lebenszyklen sich weiter verbreiteten. Wer also besonders langsam oder besonders schnell reproduzierte, war historisch unter Chamäleons erfolgreicher als die Arten „im Mittelfeld“. Die Autoren überlegen diesbezüglich, ob besonders langsame Lebenszyklen mit später Geschlechtsreife und langer Trächtigkeit möglicherweise auf dem gleichen Kontinent erfolgreicher sind, während schnellere Vermehrungsstrategien mit großen Gelegen günstiger für die Verbreitung übers Meer auf Inseln und andere Kontinente sind. Dazu passt, dass Furcifer polleni und Furcifer cephalolepis auf den Komoren und Chamaeleo zeylanicus in Indien, alles drei Beispiele für eine Ausbreitung übers Wasser, einen sehr schnellen Lebenszyklus aufweisen.

Die 34 Chamäleonarten mit der Kombination küstennah lebend, groß und extremen Lebenszyklus hatten zu 98% eine höhere Verbreitungsrate als Arten ohne diese Merkmale.  Insgesamt handelt es sich sicherlich um eine sehr theoretische Studie, die aber dennoch spannende Aufschlüsse über die historische Ver- und Ausbreitung von Chamäleons aufzeigt.

Chameleon biogeographic dispersal is associated with extreme life history strategies
Sarah-Sophie Weil, Laurie Gallien, Sébastien Lavergne, Luca Börger, Gabriel W. Hassler, Michaël P.J. Nicolaï & William L. Allen
Ecography
DOI: 10.1111/ecog.06323

Versteckte Arten innerhalb der Gattung Chamaeleo

Versteckte Arten innerhalb der Gattung Chamaeleo

Wissenschaft

Die Bestimmung von Arten ist heute dank genetischer Untersuchungen viel genauer möglich als noch vor einigen Jahrzehnten. Die Genetik wirft jedoch dadurch auch immer neue Fragen auf. Die Gattung Chamaeleo verfügt über aktuell 14 Arten. Wissenschaftler aus Südafrika haben jetzt untersucht, ob es in der Gattung womöglich weitere, ‚versteckte‘ Arten der Gattung Chamaeleo gibt. Parallel untersuchten sie, wo wohl der Ursprung der Gattung Chamaeleo liegt. Dazu wurde genetisches Material aller 14 bisher anerkannten Arten untersucht. Dabei kamen spannende Ergebnisse zutage: Von den vierzehn Chamaeleo-Arten wurden 13 bestätigt, eine jedoch in Frage gestellt. Zusätzlich konnten mehrere neue candidate species ausgemacht werden.

Die beiden unterschiedlichen Populationen von Chamaeleo anchietae im westlichen Angola sowie im südöstlichen Kongo und Tansania stellen vermutlich zwei unterschiedliche Arten dar. Sollten die Tiere aus der Demokratischen Republik Kongo und Tansania in Zukunft tatsächlich in den Artstatus erhoben werden, müssten sie der Taxonomie und einer Artebeschreibung von 1950 nach Chamaeleo vinckei genannt werden.

Chamaeleo gracilis scheint – was auf Grund seiner weiten Verbreitung nicht weiter verwunderlich wäre – mindestens drei eigenständige Arten zu verstecken. Die „echten“ Chamaeleo gracilis kämen demnach in Liberia vor, außerdem in Sierra Leone und Guinea. Die beiden anderen Gruppen stammen  zum einen aus dem Länderdreieck zwischen Chad, Kamerun und zentralafrikanischer Republik und von der Ländergrenze zwischen Kenia und Tansania. Leider wurden von Chamaeleo gracilis nur Einzeltiere beprobt, so dass an dieser Stelle noch keine weiter reichende Empfehlung zur Aufsplittung von Arten gegeben werden kann.

Das derzeit als eine einzige Art beschriebene Lappenchamäleon (Chamaeleo dilepis) könnte insgesamt drei Arten beinhalten. Eine der genetisch unterschiedlichen Populationen kommt im Osten Afrikas  in Tansania und Ruanda vor, während eine zweite Art im südlichen und östlichen Afrika, von Südafrika über Botswana, Sambia, Namibia, Mosambik und Malawi bis nach Südtansania, lebt. Die dritte Art wäre im Westen Zentralafrikas zwischen Angola und dem Kongo verbreitet. Dabei passt keine der candidate species zu den acht bisher rein vom Aussehen  beschriebenen Unterarten. Hier ist also eine vollständige Aufarbeitung der bisherigen Unterarten, deren Status sowie dem Artstatus der drei neu aufgetauchten clades notwendig.

Interessant sind zudem die Untersuchungsergebnisse zu Chamaeleo necasi aus Benin. Es stellte sich heraus, dass die Genetik das beprobte Tier als Chamaeleo gracilis identifizierte. Das Exemplar selbst wurde von den Forschern jedoch nicht untersucht. Es könnte sich dabei um ein durch sein Aussehen falsch eingeordnetes Chamaeleo gracilis handeln. Hier müssten die zur Artbeschreibung 2007 verwendeten Exemplare noch einmal gesichtet und beprobt werden, um mehr Informationen über den tatsächlichen Artstatus zu erhalten.

Im Zuge der genetischen Untersuchungen fanden die Forscher heraus, dass der Ursprung der Gattung Chamaeleo vermutlich in Südafrika liegt. Chamaeleo namaquensis, das einzige terrestrisch lebende Chamäleon der Gattung Chamaeleo, spaltete sich bereits vor 40 Millionen Jahren im Eozän von den anderen Chamaeleo-Arten ab. Damit ist das Namaqua-Chamäleon aus der Namibwüste und Damaraland das „älteste“ Chamäleon der Gattung Chamaeleo. Chamaeleo anchietae folgte etwa vor 29 Millionen Jahren.

Out of southern Africa: origins and cryptic speciation in Chamaeleo, the most widespread chameleon genus
Devon C. Main, Bettine Jansen van Vuuren, Colin R. Tilbury & Krystal A. Tolley Conceptualisation
Molecular Phylogenetics and Evolution, Volume 175, Oktober 2022
DOI: 10.1016/j.ympev.2022.107578